Bristol Rovers without key man against Forest Green as illness rules him out

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
Joey Barton has made one change to the side that drew to high-flying Barnsley last week.

Sam Finley misses out due to illness and is replaced by Josh Coburn in the only change from last Saturday’s draw to Barnsley, with the Gas taking on bottom of the league Forest Green Rovers.

Coburn looks to be part of a front two alongside John Marquis, with Barton moving away from the 4-3-3 that has done his side so well recently.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Middlesborough loanee makes his first start in four games, with his manager revealling in the week that he had been struggling with an injury in recent weeks.

It looks to be a 4-4-2 for a Bristol Rovers side with four points from their last two games, turning tide on their poor run of from from the New Year.

The Gas stick with a defence that has kept three clean sheets in the past four games, with the return of Lewis Gibson in defence coinciding with an upturn in form. The Everton loanee partners Jarell Quansah, Lewis Gibson and Luca Hoole in front of James Belshaw in the Rovers goal.

January signings Lamare Bogarde and Grant Ward keep their place in the midfield, with Aaron Collins and Scott Sinclair looking to provide width on the flanks.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Aaron Collins takes the captains armband, with Paul Coutts and Finley both missing from the squad.

Elsewhere, player-coach Glenn Whelan returns to the bench alongside summer signing Luke McCormick with club captain Paul Coutts missing from the matchday squad, and January deadline day signing Calum Macdonald also misses out.

Bristol Rovers (4-4-2): James Belshaw, Luca Hoole, Lewis Gibson, Jarell Quansah, Lewis Gordon, Aaron Collins (C), Lamare Bogarde, Grant Ward, Scott Sinclair, Josh Coburn, John Marquis.

Substitutes: Ellery Balcombe, James Connolly, James Gibbons, Glenn Whelan, Luke McCormick, Antony Evans, Ryan Loft.

Forest Green Rovers: Lewis Thomas, Corey O’Keefe, Dom Bernard, Dylan McGeouch, Jordan Garrick, Jamie Robson, Amadou Bakayoko, Udoka Godwin-Malife, Brandon Cooper, Myles Peart-Harris, Charlie Savage.

Related topics:

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.