Man Utd starlets bizarre tweet about Alex Scott and Bristol City’s brilliant response

Talented teenager Scott beat Diallo to the Championship’s Young Player of the Year award
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Sunderland’s on-loan Manchester United winger Amad Diallo has reacted after missing out on the Sky Bet Championship’s Young Player of the Year award.

Bristol City’s Alex Scott beat Diallo and Middlesbrough’s Hayden Hackney to win the award. It was one of two awards with the Robins also winning the Green Club of the Year.

Scott, in his second full season of Championship football, registered five assists and one league goal in 40 matches to win the award. Diallo got 12 goals and three assists in 35 games with Sunderland occupying a play-off spot. His other rival Hackney got four assists and three goals in 32 games for automatic promotion chasing Boro.

Giving his reaction to Scott’s award, Diallo tweeted: “Youg player, who?” alongside three laughing emojis to his 500,000 plus followers which was met with some criticism from Robins supporters.

The club brilliantly responded by quoting his post and attaching a video of the supporters chanting “Oh his name’s Alex Scott and he is so wonderful..” after his goal against Blackpool.

Scott was on hand in London to receive the award and in his speech thanked Nigel Pearson, his coaching staff and the club on a whole.

“I think probably the trust in the coaching staff is the main thing for me,” said Scott.

“I think I owe a lot to the club for what they have done for me. I’ve been at the club for three years now. I came over as a 16-year-old and now playing every week in the Championship. I owe a lot to them and I am grateful for it.”

Scott was also named in the Championship of the Season, and the only player outside of the top half to be included.

Burnley had four players included with former Bristol City midfielder Josh Brownhill in midfield alongside Scott, as as well as Connor Roberts, Ian Maatsen and Nathan Tella. Sheffield United pair Anel Ahmedhodzic and Iliman Ndiaye made the cut as well as Middlesbrough’s Chuba Akpom, with Coventry City duo Ben Wilson and Viktor Gyokeres there too.