Bristol City line up confirmed for QPR clash as Aston Villa starlet and ex-target starts for opposition

Austria international Andi Weimann starts despite a fitness worry but two of his Bristol City teammates miss out due to injury.

Nigel Pearson has chosen Joe Williams as the man to replace Matty James in Bristol City’s midfield against Queens Park Rangers.

Williams comes in for his first start since the 3-3 draw with Blackpool in late August after several substitute appearances. James misses out due to a groin injury which shouldn’t keep him out for an extended period and is not amongst the substitutes.

The swap in midfield is the only change to the starting XI from the team that narrowly lost to Burnley at Turf Moor with Alex Scott and Andi Weimann both fine to play after their international exploits.

City do have Han-Noah Massengo and player-coach Andy King to call upon as other central midfield options as the game goes on.

French goalkeeper Stefan Bajic, despite playing for the Under-21’s is not in the match day squad with Max O’Leary preferred over him.

No fully recognised centre-halves are on the bench but George Tanner has recently been working towards being a right-sided centre-back.

Antoine Semenyo after two cameo appearances for Ghana, remains on the bench as he is nursed back to full fitness following a shin injury. In-form pair Nahki Wells and Tommy Conway continue their consecutive run of games up front.

Kane Wilson and experienced forward Chris Martin are the other players who make up the seven man bench.

As for the opposition, Tim Iroegbunam, who waslinked with a move to Ashton Gate this summer starts, as does Jake Clarke-Slater, who was a one time loanee of Bristol Rovers. Albert Adomah, who spent three seasons as a Robins player, is named amongst the substitutes.

Bristol City (3-5-2): Daniel Bentley; Zak Vyner, Kal Naismith, Robert Atkinson; Mark Sykes, Joe Williams, Alex Scott, Andi Weimann, Jay Dasilva; Nahki Wells and Tommy Conway.

QPR (4-3-3): Dieng; Paal, Clarke-Salter, Balogun, Laird; Johansen, Field, Iregbunam, Chair, Roberts, Willock.