Six changes in confirmed Bristol Rovers team to face Colchester United in Papa Johns Trophy

Bristol Rovers shuffle their deck for their EFL Trophy clash with Colchester United.

<p>Joey Barton has freshened up his Bristol Rovers XI. </p>

Joey Barton has freshened up his Bristol Rovers XI.

Joey Barton has made six changes for Bristol Rovers Round of 32 EFL Trophy clash with Colchester United at the JobServe Community Stadium. Five players remain from the Gas’ 1-0 win over Peterborough United at the Memorial Stadium last Saturday.

Aaron Collins, Antony Evans, Bobby Thomas, James Connolly and Sam Finley are the only players that remain from Rovers’ team that beat the Posh.

Anssi Jaakkola, James Gibbons, Trevor Clarke, Luke McCormick, Ryan Loft and John Marquis come into the team, hoping to grab a chance and force their way into the starting XI for the League One fixtures.

Goalkeeping-coach Jaakkola replaces Belshaw in between the sticks in what is his fourth appearance of the season. All four of the Finnish goalkeeper’s appearances have come in the Trophy.

It’s a back four of James Gibbons at right-back with on-loan Burnley centre-back Bobby Thomas alongside James Connolly with Trevor Clarke on the left-hand side. Finley captains the side and is playing in central midfield alongside Evans and summer signing Luke McCormick.

Up front, Aaron Collins will play on the left, Marquis on the right with Loft in the centre. Ryan Loft makes a welcome return after being out for the last four games. He had a hamstring injury but is fit enough to start against the League Two outfit this evening.

John Marquis starts his first match since October 4 after suffering an ankle ligament against Crystal Palace. He came on as a substitute against Fleetwood Town, but was unused last weekend.

Amongst the substitutes are Belshaw, Luca Hoole, Alfie Kilgour, Harvey Saunders, Josh Coburn, Zain Westbrooke and Jordan Rossiter.

Scott Sinclair, Lewis Gibson and Lewis Gordon are not in the match-day squad this evening and are afforded a rest.

Bristol Rovers (4-3-3): Anssi Jaakkola; James Gibbons, Bobby Thomas, James Connolly, Trevor Clarke; Sam Finley, Antony Evans, Luke McCormick; John Marquis, Ryan Loft, Aaron Collins.