Joey Barton makes three Bristol Rovers changes v MK Dons as team confirmed

Three changes have been made from Bristol Rovers’ 2-1 win over Cambridge United for the test of MK Dons.

Joey Barton has made three changes to his Bristol Rovers XI for tonight’s League One match with MK Dons.

Luca Hoole comes out of the side, as does Antony Evans, they are replaced by Lewis Gibson and Paul Coutts. Another change in the centre sees Sam Finley drop to the bench and is replaced by summer signing Luke McCormick.

Right-sided midfielder Harry Anderson after missing the last three matches is available as a substitute following a bruised foot.

There is no place for Harvey Saunders, whilst all three available strikers; Josh Coburn and Ryan Loft start the match with Aaron Collins in midfield.

Sylvester Jasper, Trevor Clarke, and Anssi Jaakkola are the other substitutes at Barton’s disposal.

As for the shape of the team, it could remain as a 4-3-1-2 formation that worked against Cambridge United.

James Gibbons would be the right-back and Lewis Gordon on the left with Bobby Thomas and Lewis Gibson in the centre.

Paul Coutts, Rossiter, and McCormick would be the midfield central three with Collins providing support to Loft and Coburn.

As for the opposition, the hosts manager Liam Manning have made four changes.

Joshua Kayode is given his first league start, whilst Dean Lewington, Wales international Matt Smith, and Bradley Johnson are the other players who start.

Lewington has served the club his entire career and has just shy of 900 appearances.

As for Johnson, he was previously of Leeds United and Norwich City and played in the Premier League. He described it as a ‘must-win’ match in a pre-match press conference.

MK Dons: Jamie Cumming, Dean Lewington, Warren O’Hora, Josh McEachran, Matt Smith, Will Grigg, Daniel Oyegoke, Bradley Johnson, Joshua Kayode, Daniel Harvie, Zak Jules.

Bristol Rovers (4-3-1-2): James Belshaw, James Gibbons, Bobby Thomas, Lewis Gibson, Lewis Gordon; Paul Coutts, Luke McCormick, Jordan Rossiter; Aaron Collins; Ryan Loft and Josh Coburn.