Joey Barton makes TEN Bristol Rovers changes v Swindon as team confirmed

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
It’s all change for Bristol Rovers in their EFL Trophy match with Swindon Town at the Mem

Bristol Rovers have made ten changes for their EFL Trophy clash with Swindon Town at the Memorial Stadium this evening.

The Gas can progress to the Round of 32 with a victory this evening or results could go in their favour. Rovers have a League One match against group leaders Plymouth Argyle on Saturday and the priority has always been on the league.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The first change is in between the sticks with Anssi Jaakkola replacing the usual number one James Belshaw. Jaakkola is making his third appearance of the season after playing against Plymouth Argyle and Crystal Palace.

On-loan Burnley centre-back and goal scorer from the weekend Bobby Thomas is the only player that survives from the 4-1 win over Cheltenham Town on the weekend. He is partnered by academy graduate Alfie Kilgour.

Completing the defence is Trevor Clarke, who is likely to play at left-back, though he has often ventured forward and has played on the wing at times, which could be interchangeable.

In midfield, out-of-favour midfielder Zain Westbrooke is included and he plays alongside summer signing Luke McCormick and academy midfielder Jerry Lawrence. Lawrence recently signed a two-year contract as a first-year professional.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

On-loan Fulham winger Sylvester Jasper starts with Harry Anderson on the opposite flank. Jasper has only started one match since joining the club on Deadline Day.

Josh Coburn, a season-long loan signing from Middlesbrough, who scored against Cambridge United, leads the line on his own, in a 4-3-3 formation.

A seven-man bench includes first-team players such as James Belshaw, Lewis Gordon, Paul Coutts, Antony Evans, Sam Finley, Ryan Loft and top scorer Aaron Collins.

Cian Harries plays for Swindon Town on his return to the Memorial Stadium having made three appearances for the Robins this season. Ellis Iandolo captains them this evening and there is also starts for Morgan Roberts, amrcel Lavinier, Ricky Aguiar and Harry Parsons.

Bristol Rovers (4-3-3): Anssi Jakkola; Luca Hoole, Alfie Kilgour, Bobby Thomas, Trevor Clarke; Zain Westbrooke, Jerry Lawrence, Luke McCormick; Harry Anderson, Josh Coburn, Sylvester Jasper.

Related topics:

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.