Line-ups confirmed for Bristol Rovers vs Whitby Town in FA Cup as seven changes made

Team news from the Memorial Stadium in this afternoon’s FA Cup first-round clash between Bristol Rovers and Whitby Town.
Getty ImagesGetty Images
Getty Images

Bristol Rovers caretaker boss Andy Mangan makes seven changes ahead of their FA Cup first-round clash against seventh-tier side Whitby Town.

Lewis Gordon, Scott Sinclair, John Marquis, Luke Thomas, Jevani Brown, Lamare Bogarde and James Gibbons all come into the starting XI.

Daniel Rowe, who played for Rotherham United and Wycombe Wanderers in the Football League is one of Whitby’s most experienced players.

The 28-year-old captains the Northern Premier League side today and admitted in a pre-match interview that all the pressure is on today’s hosts.

Club captain Daniel Rowe said: “We’ve created a bit of modern day history for the club and the lads are on a high.

“We’re coming up against a really good team in League One,” Rowe said.

“They’ve got a really good ground that I’ve played at a couple of times.

“They’ll hopefully have a few thousand and I’m sure we’ll have a healthy following. It’s a decent trek to get down there but no doubt they’ll be there in numbers.

“It will be a great game to play in. We’ve got nothing to lose, it will just be a good weekend away and whatever happens, happens. We’re looking forward to that one.”

15-year-old Ollie Dewsbursy is named amongst the substitutes for Rovers. He’s been at the club since he was nine-years-old and was recently offered a two-year scholarship.

Dewsbury has played for Wales at under-15 and under-16 level and has been chosen to represent them in the Victory Shield next month. He’s a forward option, and can play in the middle or on the flank.

Bristol Rovers starting XI: Cox, Gibbons, Crama, Taylor, Gordan, Bogarde, Evans, Thomas, Sinclair, Brown, Marquis (C)

Substitutes: Matt Hall, Josh Grant, James Wilson, Sam Finley, Aaron Collins, Chris Martin, Harvey Vale, Kofi Shaw and Ollie Dewsbury

Whitby Town starting XI: Shane Bland, Connor Smith, Coleby Shepherd, Priestley Griffiths, Daniel Rowe (C), Harrison Beeden, Lewis Hawkins, Alfie Doherty, Jerome Geaves, Jacob Gratton and Junior Mondal

Substitutes: Connor Simpson, Adam Gell, Soni Fergus, Bradley Fewster, Nick Cranston, Aaron Haswell Jos Storr, Sam Spencley, George Scaife