Bristol Rovers learn EFL Trophy opponents and Carabao Cup draw details

Bristol Rovers' 2023/24 Papa John's Trophy opponents have been revealed - and their potential Carabao Cup number.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Bristol Rovers have found out their 2023/24 EFL Trophy opponents, and their ball number for the 2023/24 Carabao Cup draw.

The Gas found out their 2023/24 schedule today after the League One fixtures were released on Thursday at 9.00 am, but there are also cup competitions to think about.

Joey Barton's side enter the Carabao Cup at the first round stage, and will also be involved in the Papa John's Trophy for another campaign, in a competition that he wants to win.

Rovers, who reached the quarter-finals of the EFL Trophy, but suffered defeat to losing finalists Plymouth Argyle, will come up against their league rivals Cheltenham Town, and Newport County, as well as West Ham’s U21’s team. They will play three matches in total, with home and away matches to be decided.

The fourth and final team will be confirmed tomorrow, and will be a Premier League Under-21’s side. In recent years, they faced Crystal Palace and Chelsea, and that match would be at home, because the invited clubs, are made to play away from home.

EFL Trophy Southern draw

Group AForest Green RoversShrewsbury TownWalsallBrighton U21’sGroup BCharlton AthleticCrawley TownSutton UnitedAston Villa U21’sGroup CAFC WimbledonStevenageWycombe WanderersCrystal Palace U21’sGroup DCambridge UnitedColchester UnitedPeterborough UnitedTottenham Hotspur U21’s
Group EGillinghamLeyton OrientPortsmouthFulham U21’sGroup FMilton Keynes DonsNorthampton TownOxford UnitedChelsea U21’sGroup GExeter CityReadingSwindon TownArsenal U21’sGroup HBristol RoversCheltenham TownNewport CountyWest Ham U21’s

Carabao Cup first round numbers

1. AFC Wimbledon, 2.Birmingham City, 3.Bristol City, 4.Bristol Rovers, 5. Cambridge United, 6. Cardiff City, 7. Charlton Athletic, 8. Cheltenham Town, 9. Colchester United, 10. Coventry City, 11. Crawley Town, 12. Exeter City, 13. Forest Green Rovers. 14. Gillingham, 15. Ipswich Town, 16. Leyton Orient, 17. Millwall, 18. MK Dons, 19. Newport County, 20. Northampton Town, 21. Norwich City, 22. Oxford United, 23. Peterborough United, 24. Plymouth Argyle, 25. Portsmouth, 26. QPR, 27. Reading, 28. Southampton, 29. Stevenage, 30. Sutton United, 31. Swansea City, 32. Swindon Town, 33. Watford, 34. Wycombe Wanderers.

When is the Carabao Cup first round draw?

The Carabao Cup draw will take place at 2.30pm on Thursday, June 22 and be divided into Northern and Southern sections. The ties will be played between Tuesday, August 8, and Thursday, August 11.

The first group stage matches are to take place on either Tuesday, August 29 or Wednesday, August 30.