Adriana Amor

We visit the Bristol nature reserve with a fascinating history and stunning city views

It was once part of a large royal hunting forest

The tall chimney at the top of Troopers Hill is one of the most prominent landmarks in Bristol but it also has a fascinating history.

Located in St George, between the A431 Air Balloon Road and Crews Hole Road, this hillside nature reserve overlooks the River Avon and is owned by Bristol Parks.

Full of mining history, wild plants and animals, Troopers Hill was once part of a large royal hunting forest in the 1600s.

At the top of the hill, the tall chimney was used for copper smelting in the late 1700s, and in the 1800s, coal and fireclay were mined from the hill. The square chimney at the foot of the hill is the remains of an engine house used by the coal mine.

Troopers Hill became a tip for builders’ rubble until it was bought by the council in 1956 for the enjoyment of local residents.

In 1995, Troopers Hill became a Local Nature Reserve, and from 2007 to 2013, it won the Green Flag Award.

Nowadays, Troopers Hill is open at all times and can be accessed through four pedestrian entrances by Troopers Hill Road and through Troopers Hill Field from Summerhill Terrace and Malvern Road.

The Friends of Troopers Hill help support the protection and enhancement of the nature reserve, hold regular meetings and organise work days and events.

They also have free guided tours, including an audio tour which can be accessed through the QR code found near the entrance to the top of the hill.

Here are 19 photos from our visit to Troopers Hill:

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.