In light of the opening of The Market Story Shop in St Nicks Covered Market, we have gathered together some images of the historic market.
St Nicks pop-up museum opened on Monday, June 6 - and it will showcase some of the market’s rich history, dating back to 1939.
The market’s Story Shop museum includes memories of the flower market, the fruit market and music nights at The Exchange - as do our pictures.
First established in 1743, the historic indoor and outdoor markets house over 60 stalls, selling a range of unique gifts, quality crafts, clothing and fashion, accessories, books, records and food.
Visitors will have the opportunity to get involved in activities including printing workshops and guided tours.
To help build a wider collection, the museum is inviting visitors to come along and share their own experiences and memories of the market to add to the display.
The museum will be located opposite Treasure Island Sweets within the Covered Market, open Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, from 11am to 4pm.
Further information will be shared on the St Nicholas Markets website, @stnicksmarket on Instagram, @stnicksmarket on Twitter and @stnicholasmarket on Facebook.

1. The flower market beneath the Glass Arcade in 1939 (Credit: Bristol Museum)
The flower market beneath the Glass Arcade in 1939 (Credit: Bristol Museum) | Bristol Museum

2. Images are courtesy of Bristol Museum’s collection and date back to 1939
Picture date unknown |

3. Butchers at St Nicks Market in the late 1950’s (Credit: Bristol Museum)
Butchers at St Nick’s market in the late 1950’s (Credit: Bristol Museum) | Bristol Museum

4. Images are courtesy of Bristol Museum’s collection and date back to 1939
Shoppers browse items - Picture date unknown |