Queen’s Birthday Honours 2022: Full list of recipients in the Bristol area

More than a dozen people in the Bristol area have been recognised for their outstanding achievements and contributions to society

Key health workers, professors, and most spectacularly, a dance teacher who joins the Queen in celebrating 70 years in public service, are among the Bristol people to be included in the Birthday Honours List 2022.

The Cabinet Office has published the full list of 1,134 recipients from across the UK tonight (1 June 2022), with 13 Bristolians making the cut.

Her Majesty The Queen’s Jubilee Birthday Honours List 2022 marks the incredible public service of individuals across the UK in celebration of Her Majesty’s unprecedented 70 years of service.

In tribute to The Queen, recipients have been awarded for their outstanding contributions across all sectors, but in particular for sustained public service, the environment and sustainability, and youth engagement.

Joining The Queen with 70 years of public service is Grace Angela Redgrave, founder and Principal of the Bristol School of Dancing, who receives a BEM for Services to Dance - and at 104 years old is the oldest person on the List.

Grace Angela Redgrave joins the Queen in celebrating 70 years of public service
Grace Angela Redgrave joins the Queen in celebrating 70 years of public service
Grace Angela Redgrave joins the Queen in celebrating 70 years of public service

The rest of the people from the Bristol region include Professor Sarah Purdy, Pro-Vice Chancellor at University of Bristol, and Aisha Thomas, Founder of Representation Matters.

They join high-profile names from across the country such as Rio Ferdinand, Gareth Bale and Damian Lewis, so it’s humbling to see so many less well-known Bristolian names on the List.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson said: “This historic Platinum Jubilee is not only a celebration of the monarch but of the qualities she possesses. The honours she confers this week reflect many of those qualities that have been invaluable from all different walks of life and to communities across the UK.

“I pay tribute to all of this year’s winners. Their stories of courage and compassion are an inspiration to us all.”

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Christian Kyle Irwin, Industry Programme Director, National Rail. For Services to the Rail Industry (Bristol, City of Bristol)

Lisa Pascoe, Deputy Director, Social Care Policy, Ofsted. For Services to Children’s Services (Bristol, City of Bristol)

Professor Sarah Purdy, Pro Vice-Chancellor, University of Bristol and General Practitioner, Sea Mills Surgery, Bristol. For services to General Practice (Bristol, City of Bristol)

Professor Sarah Smith, ​​Professor of Economics, University of Bristol. For services to Economics and to Education (Bristol, City of Bristol)

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Barry Adam Boffy, Head of Inclusion and Diversity, British Transport Police. For services to Policing (Bristol, City of Bristol)

Dr David Malcolm Brohn, Founder, E-Training Systems Ltd. For services to Structural Engineering (Bristol, City of Bristol)

Dr Ian Stuart Miller, Lately Chief Medical Officer, British Paralympic Association. For services to Paralympic Sport (Clevedon, Somerset)

Rhys David Thomas, Deployed Caseworker, Ministry of Defence. For Public Service (Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset)

Aisha Simone Lolita Thomas, Founder, Representation Matters. For services to Education (Bristol, City of Bristol)

Judd Trump, For services to Snooker and to Charity (Bristol, Bristol)

Ameeta Virk, Markets Leader, Department for International Trade. For services to the Economy (Bristol, City of Bristol)

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)

Geoffrey George Clark, Area Manager, Bristol and Bath and North East Somerset. For voluntary service to St John Ambulance (Bristol, City of Bristol)

Grace Angela Redgrave, Principal, Bristol School of Dancing. For services to Dance (Bristol, City of Bristol)

Tell us why you think the people listed above are special. Email [email protected]