We visit the century-old Bristol park with an air raid shelter and a rare four-sided clock

It’s famous for its four-sided clock dating back to its opening

Over a century ago, 19 acres of land were given to Staple Hill by Alderman Arthur William Page to form the centenarian park we now know as Page Park.

The land was originally part of the Hill Estate. On 14th December 1910, the year Page was elected as Alderman of the county of Gloucestershire, the park was officially opened to the public.

The Downend band marched, Alderman Page presented a new sixpence to children from the local school, the National Anthem was sung, and an oak sapling was planted to celebrate the occasion.

The iconic original four-side clock in the pavilion has been preserved to this date and new additions have been made to the park since the opening ceremony.

Queen Mary II visited the park in 1945, during the Second World War, and in 1960 a Golden Jubilee commemoration took place in Page Park.

Today, Park Park is maintained by the Friends of Page Park with help from South Gloucestershire Council, the Big Lottery Fund, and the Heritage Lottery Fund. The park is open from 6 am to 10 pm from April to October and from 6 am to 9 pm from November to March.

Here are 17 photos from our visit:

Related topics:

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.