Easter holidays 2023 in Bristol: When do schools break up for Easter and when they go back - school term dates

Easter holidays 2023 are just around the corner, here are all the important dates for schools in Bristol.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

The Easter holidays are fast approaching and it is a much-anticipated time in the calendars of schoolchildren in and around Bristol. Later nights, plenty of free time and lots of chocolate eggs are just some of the highlights - but when does this all start?

An important question for parents who need to know when they have to start planning ways to keep their kids entertained, or to sort out booking abroad or staycations.

Kids will have the opportunity to enjoy just over two-weeks of freedom from schoolwork, which can be filled up with many of the city’s biggest attractions and activities such as Aerospace Bristol. They might prefer a spring walk too, visiting the likes of the Cheddar Gorge, the Clifton Downs and more.

Schools in Bristol are scheduled to break up from Friday, March 31. Children will then return back to the classroom from Monday, April 17.

Note that these dates are for most schools in Bristol, but academies and voluntary aided schools may differ, visit the Bristol Council website for more information. You are advised to check with your school to make sure.

Bristol school term dates 2022 / 2023 academic year

Schools in Bristol are set to take a break for the Easter holidays later this month - Credit: AdobeSchools in Bristol are set to take a break for the Easter holidays later this month - Credit: Adobe
Schools in Bristol are set to take a break for the Easter holidays later this month - Credit: Adobe
  • Term 1: Thursday, September 1, 2022 to Friday, October 21, 2022
  • Term 2: Monday, October 31, 2022 to Friday, December 16, 2022 
  • Term 3: Tuesday, January 3, 2023 to Friday, February 10, 2023 
  • Term 4: Monday, February 20, 2023 to Friday, March 31, 2023
  • Term 5: Monday, April 17, 2023 to Friday, May 26, 2023 
  • Term 6: Monday, June 5, 2023 to Friday, July 21, 2023